Protect Yo Self 

My curls have been begging for a vacay lately so I decided it’s time to do a protective style. After spending hours stalking YouTube, I finally felt comfortable enough to tackle this particular style. If you follow me on my other social media outlets, you already know the style I’m talking about! Faux goddess locs!

img_4290

When I first went natural, I tried faux locs and although they looked nice, they were way too heavy and the hair irritated my scalp. That being said, I still thought I’d give them a second chance and I’m glad I did! This time around, the locs are super flexible and not nearly as heavy. Now let me tell you about the hard part, installing these bad boys!

Before I started these, I already knew I’d have to clear my schedule because of how long installation would take but I was pleasantly surprised! I started the whole process about mid day and finished at almost midnight, but after I finished I noticed my golden Reese’s Pieces peanut butter cup colored hair popping through some of the dreads. At this point I had ran out of hair already so I had to wait until the next day to get more hair and fix those parts. So overall I would say it took me a day to do this style (I thought it would take me at least 2 days)!

img_4399

For prepping my natural hair, I washed and deep conditioned my hair then blow dried it using Edens BodyWorks Elixir and LottaBody Style Milk, the elixir for heat protection and the style milk for moisture. After I blow dried I used Shea Moisture curl enhancing smoothie and sealed with coconut oil on each section before I started the locs. I used 2 packs of wavy crochet hair and 7 packs of Marley hair. Here’s the process:

  1. Use one piece of wavy hair mixed with one piece of Marley hair and braid  your hair to the length you want your locs.
  2. Wrapped the Marley hair around the braid to give it the appearance of a loc. Leave ends out so you could get that goddess loc look. TIP: The hair I got was already separated so picking pieces wasn’t difficult.
  3.  Burn the ends of the dreads so they don’t unravel.

At night, to preserve this style I put the locs in a high bun and then put a satin cap over it. To keep my hair under this style moisturized, after trial and error, I found that using Carols Daughter Black Vanilla Leave-in really helped with itching. I spray my scalp with the leave in but not enough for it to be soaking wet and then I spray each loc to the point where my hair stops. After this I use castor oil mixed with jojoba oil to give myself a scalp massage as well as the locs. It’s important to not forget your natural hair under a protective style! Don’t forget to moisturize!

I’ve had these locs for about 2 weeks now and I really am enjoying them! I’ve been itching to straighten my hair so I can get some length but with this style I get length AND aesthetic! Compliments are coming from every direction! This is the easiest style I’ve ever had when it comes to everyday maintenance! For those that are asking me if I could do their hair, I really wouldn’t mind but I am nowhere near being a professional! I’ve never done anyone else’s hair in a protective style but I’m willing to experiment!

img_4407

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

